IACLE Travel Awards

Entry has now closed for all IACLE awards

These annual awards enable IACLE members to travel to international contact lens meetings.

The 2018 IACLE Travel Awards are supported by all the sponsors of IACLE (Alcon, CooperVision, Johnson & Johnson Vision, Bausch + Lomb and Euclid).

In 2018 there will be three awards and recipients can choose to travel to one of two meetings.

Special Notice revealing the 2017 IACLE Award winners here

Click here to view previous recipients

2018 Award

The recipient of the 2018 IACLE Travel Award will receive:

  • A bursary of up to US$3,000 towards the cost of attending an international meeting during 2018.  This year’s recipients will attend either the annual meeting of the American Academy of Optometry, Academy 2018, (one award) from 7-10 November 2018, or the Association of Optometric Contact Lens Educators’ AOCLE Annual Workshop (two awards) which is also taking place in San Antonio, from 31 May - 3 June 2018. The latter awards are additionally supported by the AOCLE.

  • A certificate to mark the award, to be presented at the meeting attended.

  • Publicity relating to the award in IACLE communications and other media. 

Entry is now closed

Applications are now under review and members will be contacted in March with further information from IACLE Director of Operations Bonnie Boshart  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

About The Awards

These awards are open to all IACLE Educator Members from any country with preference given to members who are active FIACLEs (Fellows of IACLE) or have attempted the IACLE Fellowship Exam.

IACLE President Dr Shehzad Naroo urges members to take advantage of the offer: ‘This is a great opportunity for members to attend either the Academy meeting or AOCLE event. Our aspiration is that the winners can then return to their institutions, and use newly acquired skills and knowledge for the benefit of students.'

What previous recipients say…

The 2016 IACLE Travel Award winner was Dr Eman Alzghoul from Jordan University of Science and Technology, Irbid, Jordan, pictured at Academy 2016 with IACLE President Dr Shehzad Naroo.

‘The award has been the biggest opportunity I’ve had since I started teaching and practicing contact lenses. Thanks to this opportunity, my experience, knowledge and confidence increased incredibly,’ she said.

Read Eman’s full report here



Dr Lina María Rodríguez Cely from the Federación Colombiana de Optómetras, Colombia and Premjit Bhakat from the Department of Optometry, School of Allied Health Sciences at Manipal University, India represented IACLE at the 2017 AOCLE Annual Workshop at the University of Missouri – St Louis.

Click here to learn about their participation



The recipient of the first IACLE Travel Award, in 2013, was Kishor Sapkota from Nepal Eye Hospital in Kathmandu, Nepal, pictured with Professor Philip Morgan at the University of Manchester, at an IACLE Education Day prior to the 2013 British Contact Lens Association Clinical Conference & Exhibition.

Click here to read Kishor's report of his experiences




The IACLE Travel Awards are sponsored by


Click here for details of the IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards