IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards

Entry has now closed for all IACLE awards

The IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards were introduced in 2014 to recognise and reward achievements in contact lens education worldwide. 

Sponsored by CooperVision, three prestigious awards are presented each year.

The title IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year is awarded to one individual from each of IACLE’s global regions:

  • Asia Pacific
  • Europe / Africa – Middle-East
  • Americas

Read our Special Notice revealing the 2017 IACLE Award winners here

View here previous award recipients

2018 Awards

The recipients of the 2018 IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards each receive:

  • A bursary of up to US$3,000 towards the cost of attending a major international conference during 2018, thanks to generous sponsorship from CooperVision. This year recipients will attend the annual meeting of the American Academy of Optometry, Academy 2018, in San Antonio, Texas, USA from 7-10 November 2018.
  • Permission to use the title 2018 IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year for their region.
  • A certificate to mark the award, to be presented at the conference attended.
  • Publicity relating to the award in IACLE communications and other media.

About The Awards

The winners of these awards will demonstrate a high level of commitment to IACLE and to helping fulfill its mission to raise the standard of contact lens education worldwide.

This honour is aimed at individuals who are involved in teaching in the field of contact lenses and have demonstrated an innovative educational approach in their institution, country or region. Innovations in educational research related to contact lenses or provision of invaluable resources to students will also be considered.

The IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards are open to all IACLE members from any country, with preference given to members who are active FIACLEs (Fellows of IACLE) or have attempted the IACLE Fellowship Exam.

It is intended that the awards will recognise work by those who are established contact lens teachers. Equally, the award may be given in recognition of a useful educational contribution by an IACLE Associate Member fulfilling the criteria for this category of membership. Click here for membership criteria for each category.

IACLE President Dr Shehzad Naroo encourages members to take advantage of the award and submit their entries: ‘The IACLE Awards are now established as a great accolade, recognising the achievements of IACLE members and Fellows. These awards acknowledge best practise in contact lens education and assessment which is at the core of IACLE’s mission.’

Entry is now closed

Applications are now under review and members will be contacted in March with further information from IACLE Director of Operations Bonnie Boshart This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

What previous recipients say…

FIACLE Professor Monica Chaudhry of Amity University, Gurgaon, India was awarded 2015 IACLE Asia Pacific Contact Lens Educator of the Year.

An IACLE member for 20 years, Monica described joining IACLE as ‘a turning point’ in her career from clinician to educator that led to her to become a key opinion leader in contact lenses in her country.

Click here to read about Monica’s experiences of winning the award.






 The IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards are sponsored by


Click here for details of the IACLE Travel Award for an educator starting out on his / her career